I. Think. I. Should. KILL. Myself.

Someone once said "You can either sulk over the spilt milk or pour yourself another cup." I choose to do both because life is boring without sulking and whining.

Gloves. November 4, 2010

Filed under: School — ithinkishouldkillmyself @ 6:54 am

Infamous nitrile glove used

Everyone who has been in a higher education (or some high schools) science lab should know what nitrile gloves are. They kinda protect your hands from harmful (eg. caustic) chemicals and protect your samples from being “defiled” by whatever is on your fingers when handling the samples.

Cool right?

But since I started using these gloves, skin on my finger tips start peeling off. So I hate using them in both my Chemistry and Marine Science lab now. To be honest, we don’t really need gloves with the chemicals we’re handling in both these labs since it’s always smart to wash your hands with soap right after labs.

(It won’t be a Jonathan blog entry without rants! Get READY!)

Some people trust these gloves way too much! It’s crazy! Drives me nuts!!!!!

Like when we were using some form of cyanide in our Chemistry lab. I know it’s dangerous and all but it was in a clean dry glass container (forgot whether it was a beaker or Erlenmeyer flask). After carrying out an analytical test on it, I passed it to my lab partner (who came late to lab on that day) to clean the glass container since he offered to help. He wasn’t using any gloves and he grabbed the container containing the cyanide sample and THEN asking me what’s in the glass container. I told him it had the cyanide sample in it and he got upset at me at passing him the container without his gloves on! And then he went on and on and on about how I’m gonna eat a sandwich using my fingers after the lab with cyanide on my fingers. I’m like WTF 0.0

Also, earlier this evening in my Marine Science lab, my group and another group had to plot a standard silica curve (spectrophotometry >.<) to determine how much silica is present in our samples collected for our final project. This bitch I kept making me and my friend to wear gloves to handle not-so-harmful chemicals. When we finally made our standard solutions, we started reading the absorbance values from a spectrophotometer but the absorbance values were different from last week (or from what it’s supposed to read, at least close to the value). Guess what? First thing that bitch said was it’s because of us not wearing gloves 0.0 I’m like WTF?!

I did screw up a standard solution but we fixed that. SO SHE BLAMES US FOR NOT WEARING GLOVES 0.0

Yeap, gotta wear the rubber… Don’t wanna ruin anything.

Coastal Methods Fall 2010 = Backstabbing class. Nobody is a true friend. You may try as hard as you can, but it’s so difficult being a true friend in that class. Especially to them two face bitches.

 

Leave a Reply

